Pesach Dinner

Tomorrow Pesach starts. That means no bread, pasta, or anything with a normal flour or yeast. My parents and I are going to their friends house to have a traditional Pesach dinner that we have every year. Everything has a symbol. We eat all this food (some of it is not that good actually – like hard boiled egg and really spicy stuff) with symbolism. We go through and read the meaning and story of Pesach. Then, after a long time of prayer and a very traditional and symbolic preparation, we have dinner (which is really good). I have gone each year, but I asked if I could skip this year. However, tonight I decided that I should go and experience a Pesach Dinner once more.

Right before school ended (actually on the last day), our Arabic/Middle East culture teacher (who teaches only three other students than me) brought it Matza. We ate Matza, which is the traditional food Jews eat during Pesach. This is just a special Pesach flour and water combined together. Usually, you eat this with a cottage cheese or something. So, one kid who just came to Israel asked what is Pesach? So, although none of us four are Jewish, I lived here the longest and therefore, I told a very simple/to the point story of Pesach.

Pesach is basically, in English, Passover. This represents when the angle of death came over the houses. The Jews put sheeps’ blood over their doors for a sign the angle of death passed over their homes. Then, when the angle of death killed the Pharaoh’s oldest son, he became very angry and told Moses to leave with all the Jews. So, they had to flee. The reason why we eat Matza during this holiday, is because the Jews did not have enough time to wait for the bread to rise, therefore, making Matza.

I know this is a very simplified version, but it gets the point across. So, a lot of my friends and I wanted to go to the movies before Pesach dinner tomorrow, but it turns out that all the theaters in Israel are closed because of this holiday. So, we will probably go tomorrow. We might watch Hunger Games or Journey to the Mystery Island (so that more people who already watched the Hunger Games will come). Just a simple holiday that I am pretty use to comes around, but something I would like to share with you all.

Hag Samach (happy holidays)! This is what we say whenever there is a holiday in Israel, such as Passover. This holiday is a gift giving holiday, so we gave my cello teacher (whom I have known for 7 years) a present. Hope you all enjoy!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. healthy dinner ideas
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 03:10:02

    Hi there, simply turned into alert to your blog through Google, and located that it’s truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in case you continue this in future. Numerous other people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Reply

    • waverlyh
      Apr 17, 2012 @ 14:28:06

      I am so sorry for not seeing this comment or replied sooner. 7 of my comments (a lot for me since I’m just starting out) went through into the spam section automatically. I apologies. Thank you so much! I’m glad that you found it informative. Yes, I definitely love brussels (they are one of my favorite)!

      Thanks,
      Waverly

      Reply

  2. magic seo
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 19:02:04

    Undeniably believe that that you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the web the easiest thing to consider of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while other folks think about worries that they just don’t recognise about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the entire thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thank you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

