HS Hockey Marathon, Lock In, Fashion Show, and Lent

I’m so sorry for all of you who do follow my blog (I’ve probably lost most of you) because I haven’t written in about a month. Basically, I stopped writing when one girl in my grade’s little brother in 4th grade started to use everything I ever wrote on here against me. I know it shouldn’t have gotten to me (especially a 4th grader) but it did a bit. So, just everyday I would not feel like writing and  I made the excuse of having too much homework and science fair work to write a simple post. So, I kind of just put this aside, but now I’m ready to pick up blogging again. Once again, sorry for the absence of posts, but I’ll get it back on the road again!

A lot has happened since the last time I wrote including high school’s hockey marathon, lock in, the fashion show which was just held yesterday, and how I’m struggling through lent.

The high school hockey marathon was taking place a bit before the middle schools lock in, where there are games in the gym, a talent show and a dance. The student council was in charge of the talent show and the dance. We put up lists where people could sign up. At the end of it, we had a lot of talented people signing up. So, of course we needed to have a prize for the most talented person. This took a bit of thinking, but in the end we came up with the perfect idea. I decided that the student council should have a bake sale during the high school’s hockey marathon. They did this during our hockey marathon, so why couldn’t we do this for ours? This would help us pay for the prize and also the DJ for the Valentine’s Dance. I made two dozen cupcakes the day before in red and blue colors (which are the colors the two teams are placed in for hockey marathon). I sold them to all the middle schoolers and also two a lot of people on my bus. The next day we had a more organized bake sale where I made (which was requested by my principle) to make 42 cupcakes. Again  I made them red or blue, so that the person on the blue team could pick a blue cupcake and vis versa.  Also, some other girls brought cookies, drinks, and brownies to sell as well. We made a bit over 500 NIS, which is about $132. This was really good for us and it was a big success!

During the Lock In, I was mostly working to get things in order such as running my homeroom games (because everyone else in my homeroom ran off, leaving me to work the game), being MC for the talent show as well as performing piano for it, and making sure everything was okay for the dance. Everyone had fun, so that I guess was good. I wish I had more fun though, and didn’t work as much. There were chariot races with two members from each homeroom (one girl and one boy) to participate. I did it last year and let go, so I decided not to do it this year. My best friend, in another homeroom (which I was “adopted to” that day before the chariot racing) won the race! I was really proud of her! Then when we moved from the gym to the auditorium we had the talent show. I had to other friends of mine who both helped me with MC. They were actually really good. Actually, I didn’t really know the prize until the last minute, because we changed it. We, although the bake sale was such a great success, were not able to raise enough money (just during that one week) to buy two iPod nano’s for the ultimate prizes, gave the winners (two girls who sang Jar of Hearts together) $100 dollars and a week of no uniforms. Also, for all those who participated in the talent show got a week of no uniforms. This was a nice addition and I wonder if the students liked it even more than an iPod nano. We also had judges this year, unlike last year. I picked them out through a raffle, and one of my favorite 6th grader (who is in geometry math with me) was picked. Actually, the funny thing is I told him before that I hope he got to be a judge, which ended up happening by fate. So, I was really happy. They were able to say nice things to every actor, which was nice. None of them were allowed to say anything negative, which I guess turned out better then I expected. At the end of the fashion show I was able to get them all up on stage to specially thank them. For the dance, we cut out hearts to stick on the walls and had pink and red and white streamers hung up. It looked really nice. At the end of it everyone had a wonderful time, I was just upset because no one really recognized how much effort I put in to make this work. I believe that I worked harder than my principle and this other teacher in charge for Eco-club (which took care of all the games in the gym). Also, to compensate,  Eco was actually able to raise money to buy the two iPod nano’s and had a raffle for them. Two seventh graders won the raffles, so I’m happy for them!

Just last night there was a huge event held at my school that four high school 11th graders (two of whom are in my Hebrew class) organized. This fashion show was to help support this organization called Shanti House. They basically take in kids that were sexually abused, physically abused, or runaways, orphans or any child 21 or younger who wishes to come to them. They take care of them as if they are a family and they supply them with education and try to help them find a job when they leave. It was a really good cause to base this fashion on. Overall it was a really cool experience to watch what some AIS students created and also some other fashion from actual stores like Levi’s. I was the only middle schooler who helped with this event by selling tickets and also raffles (sadly I didn’t win anything). My eye was really on this cooking class that you could win. However, I didn’t win anything, but I had a fun time! I also was able to meet up with some of my high school friends that I never get to see anymore, which was nice.

Lent has started, about a week ago. I gave up chocolate and sweets. My mom also told me about something more meaningful would be to give up being mean or talking behind people’s backs. So I gave up talking behind people’s backs (which isn’t that hard for me, since I don’t really do that anyways). My hardest part is giving up sweets and chocolate. The way I’m feeling right now, I had no idea I was actually addicted to sugar.  It’s been so hard, I’m always craving something sweet, and I’m wondering if my headaches are worse because of it (since I always have headaches since the time I got sick and had to quite gymnastics. Maybe I will explain the type of pain and stuff in another post in case someone could diagnose me?). No doctor has ever found out my problem. I’m trying these pills, but they aren’t working. So, I always thought I was healthy, but this no sugar policy is killing me. It’s so much harder than I expected.  My mom actually just read today an article on how sugar actually is really bad for you. It’s almost like poison. Especially drinks, all the sugar goes to your liver really quickly. Your liver isn’t sure what to do with it, so it turns it into fat immediately. Your body can’t really know the difference between corn syrup (gross generated) stuff verses natural types of sugar. But in any event, it can even give cancer. The diet of Japanese or Koreans do not eat sugar that much, so they don’t get cancer as much (according to this article) as American’s do. So please watch out the amount of sugar you all consume because in a way it is dangerous. I had no idea the amount of sugar I was eating (in sweets, cakes, cookies, or other baked goods). You just don’t pay attention to those types of stuff. So please, open your eyes to what you are all eating! Hopefully by the end of these 40 days, I won’t be addicted to sugar anymore. But, it is going to be so hard this next month!

 

Leave a Reply

