Reflecting Back on 2011 and Looking Forward to 2012

This past year for me I’ve experienced many changes and just in general 2011 has really shaped me. I look back on the new year that I hear so many stories about. That was when we were going into year 2000. As soon as the clock struck midnight, I banged my head on the coffee table. I was two at the time. But remembering that story makes me realize how many changes you can go through in just one year. There are so many endings that might occur in this year, but also so many new beginnings. I have never done this, so there is always a start, but I really feel that I should make a New Year resolution. I am starting to believe in doing this resolution just because it is the new year, you have a clean slate of everything you’ve done, and you can just change yourself for the better.

So, here is my idea of what I should do for the New Year resolution:

1. To get into Phillips Exeter Academy: I have an interview this Wednesday and on the 8th I take the SSAT.

2. Running: Besides running with my dad more often, I think I would really benefit if I did this running program twice a week that my friend told me about.

3. Friends: There have been so many friends around me who really do cherish being with me. They love me for every silly thing I do and just everything I am. I would just really like to open up more to them, invite them to hang out, just simple nice things to do to show that I care about them as a friend.

4. Niceness: This kind of relates to #3 but just being nicer to people in general, not talking behind other people’s backs, loving the people who love me back and not worry about the people who don’t.

These may all seem like practical or hard things to change, but I think it will be for the better. Allowing me to be the best that I can be. I would advise you all to do the same. Just so that you’ll have a list you can look back on, see what you can improve upon and what you still need to accomplish.

Leave a Reply

