The Final Countdown. . . Which Team Will Win?

HOCKEY MARATHON!!!

Today was the big day. I lead the blue team for the opening and closing ceremony while pumping up the blue team (half the Middle School) by chanting “Let’s go blue-u-u . . . let’s go”. We had our skit, which went okay. I added a few easy flips that would be safe on a wood gym floor without mats like a cartwheel without hands, a side-semi, and a back handspring.

I switched between playing offense and goalie, but was mainly goalie for the marathon. My team, Toy Story,  did not end up using the tactic of calling out our Toy Story character names when we needed to get that team member’s attention, but we were very well spread out, passed a lot, and overall very good. I think I actually had the best girls team.

One really hard team, Pussy Cat Dolls, attempted over 20 times (well maybe I am exaggerating a bit) to score goals, but only one went into my goal.  Despite my strong team, the race toward winning was very close. One second red would be in the lead, the next blue was. The scoring system that we had was based on every goal scored by each individual team (not by the win of each smaller game). So, it was a race until the final game of the last second. I had some doubts before the last game was played, and I turned out to be right. Blue lost, which is sad for me and my whole blue team but I think to play at this Middle School Hockey Marathon is not about winning (but if we did that would have been great) but about having fun and the experience during this day. The score was 78 to 80. It was a very close game with only a 2 goal difference. Last year it was a one goal difference (and I was on the winning side), which just shows that the decision making of the teams were very good, making it a close and competitive marathon.

Congratulations Red!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hilma Buckle
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 08:50:07

    Simply want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your submit is just spectacular and that i could think you’re knowledgeable on this subject. Fine together with your permission let me to seize your feed to stay updated with forthcoming post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please continue the rewarding work.

    Reply

    • waverlyh
      Jan 04, 2012 @ 21:23:32

      I’m sorry I didn’t answer this sooner, but I found your comment in my spam folder. Thank you so much for reading my blog and feel free to grab my feed so you can stay updated on my latest entries.

      Thanks,
      Waverly

      Reply

Leave a Reply

