Israeli Wedding, Homework Projects, Hockey Marathon, and Phillips Exeter Academy!!

I know that it’s been awhile since my last post, but I have had such a hectic week — I went to a wedding, I had a huge exam in humanities on the U.S. Constitution, a oral presentation in Hebrew, getting the hockey marathon opening ceremony together, and also the biggest news, I am applying to Phillips Exeter Academy!

My brothers best friend, who is an Israeli, invited my whole family to his sister’s wedding this last Thursday. It was the very first wedding that I ever attended. Of course the whole ceremony was in Hebrew, but it was such a unique experience. For the first dance, which was a very special and sweet moment, my brother’s friend and his older brother played the saxophone and piano for their sister. Also, during the actual ceremony there is a contract that the groom gives the wife that says basically if he does anything she can divorce him and that will be the amount of money he will give her.

I studied in advanced for my U.S. Constitution test, and also put together a huge study guide (based on the questions he would ask us). This allowed me to know the material cold. So, even though the night before I did not have time to study, I think I did well. Also, making time for your teachers to look at your presentation and what you will say in Hebrew (or any other subject or assignment) can really help. If you go to your teacher in advanced, talk with him/her, and show him/her your work, you will be able to get an understanding of what you can correct before actually presenting it. This can help you in two ways — (1) you will feel confident and be able to do a good job when you have to present your project, and (2) you will be able to take the corrections and understand them so you can learn from your mistakes the next time you have to present a power point. Whenever there are writing assignments in my Hebrew class, my Hebrew teacher allows you to correct the mistakes. However, you need to make the time to correct them and if you don’t then what you got for that grade is what you will receive. So, if you can get your homework done ahead of time, you can make time to talk to your teacher and make corrections which will help you to be a better student and learn far more than if you did not stay on top of your work.

Hockey Marathon is coming up really soon! In fact, it is this Friday! Our skit is going well, we are starting to act it out. Also, since our theme is reality vs. fantasy we have this wall (blue on one side and red on the other) that keeps the two worlds apart. However, a part of the wall breaks which makes the peace between the two worlds unbalanced. So, we fit (by playing hockey) to settle the dispute and whoever’s team wins, they will be receive the golden stick (which is the part that is missing) to place back on the wall. I have finally been able to get a Bugs Bunny costume, and I hope everything goes well. We have made up the teams, and the rest of the Middle School will find out on Monday. We tried our best to make it as balanced between the two teams — red and blue — as possible. Some of my friends and I are thinking about wearing high red, or blue socks during the hockey marathon! Also, just like every year, the week of the hockey marathon is spirit week. So Monday is twin/multiple day (I will be a triplet), Tuesday will be pajama day, Wednesday will be switch gender day, and Thursday will be crazy hair day and nationality day (where you wear the colors of your country). I am really excited!

I have not fully decided yet, but I am pretty sure that if I get in to Phillips Exeter Academy (the boarding school where my brothers go to) then I will go. It is just such a great opportunity that will open many doors for me. So, I have started working on my application. I have talked to my teachers and they are writing recommendations. I am starting my essays, and my mom wrote hers. I have to start studying for the SSAT as well and will take it in January.  So, we will see what the future holds for me.

 

Leave a Reply

